Tokyopop’s New Online Show: America’s Greatest Otaku

…Well it’s nice to know that Tokyopop has reached the TLC channel-level of reality TV shows.  I’m side-eying this already.  Is it really that hard to say “anime fan” rather than “otaku”?  It irks me because sometimes I feel like I’m one of the seemingly few people that realize that “otaku” has negative connotations.  “Anime fan” makes me think of someone who supports the industry and participates in it.  “Otaku” makes me think of someone who goes on vacation with their Love Plus girlfriend.  Whatever, not a terminology battle I’m going to win so I’ll move on.

The series is going to air on Hulu.com starting on February 24th, and will be an 8 part series.  Tokyopop traveled to 20 cities to interview fans at conventions and the top 19 will be shown.  Hopefully some of these people will be talented cosplayers (who often have to sew their own costumes and make props).  As long as it’s not just a bunch of people interjecting KAWAIIII into their speech or saying how much they love “Japan” when it’s obvious that they know nothing outside the anime industry niche.  It’d be like me saying I love “America” cause I follow every MTV show and know every episode of “The Hills” by heart.


One response to “Tokyopop’s New Online Show: America’s Greatest Otaku

Leave a Reply

