Zac Efron Admits He Likes Manga (or More Specifically, DEATH NOTE)

Right now, Zac Efron is over in Japan promoting his new movie 17 Again.  In this interview with Elle Girl (lol manly), he talks about how he was like when he was 17 (as if it were so long ago) and casually claims that he likes manga.  I dunno if he just dropped that as a “I’m in Japan, lemme be cultural” quip, but I have to say that I’m surprised that someone like him would give manga the time of day.  Either it’s a sign of anime/manga breaking past its “geek” notoriety or one of his friends told him that half the internet thinks he looks like an animated character.  Admittedly, he’s mostly just into popular Shonen Jump series, but maybe he’s just naming off the popular titles so non-weeaboos can follow his dialogue?  And yes, Zac Efron is weeaboo.  His little “Desu~ Note” comment solidifies that.  Anyhow, I’m sure thousands of fans, male and female, either had one of two reactions to his love of Death Note: FUUUUUUUUUUUUUU or AIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEE.  Personally, I’d love to see Zac take a crack at it.  A Hollywood remake is going to be lulzy anyhow, so why not have someone who looks like an IRL clone of Light?  And who knows, maybe Zac could break his campy musical stride with Death Note and finally get recognized for something dramatic.

About firstother


11 responses to “Zac Efron Admits He Likes Manga (or More Specifically, DEATH NOTE)

  • Lailani

    He’s mentioned being a comic book and manga fan for a long time even before HSM I think. But never has he mentioned this many specifics.

    He’s just a geek that turned hot. How is a mystery but thank god he did.

  • Hinano

    Dude 17again was an AWESOME movie, i laughed my ass off and I’ve never even watched high school musical

  • Kairu Ishimaru

    I thought 17 Again was some f—ts singing and dancing their dialogues..

  • Gel

    Zac Efron…as Light Yagami…

    …I would laugh so frekkin’ hard.

    So, is Miley Cyrus going to play Ryuk?

  • agshassa

    screw gay efron screw gay efron fangirls and screw disney
    …………………./´¯/)
    ………………..,/¯../
    ………………./…./
    …………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`·¸
    ………./’/…/…./……./¨¯\
    ……..(‘(…´…´…. ¯~/’…’)
    ………\……………..’…../
    ……….”…\………. _.·´
    …………\…………..(
    hsm fans

  • Lady Lolita

    I hate how that video was removed. Awesome how he actually admitted he liked this stuff, I have a little bit more hope for him now.

    I’ll admit, I thought it was a bad idea first, but now, I would actually like to see him in the movie. Lately, his previous movies haven’t been that bad.

    HSM was just bad though, ugh.

  • deathnote

    Is 17again good???I never saw this one.

  • Ashanti Inunozuka

    Yes. Just yes. This needs to happen. Because we all know that if he plays this, the fandom will rejoice about one thing in the movie being right.
    And who doesn’t want to see Zac Efron play a complete psycopath?
    And for the half the internet that saw this coming, the words “Just as planned” come to mind.

  • chyoko-chan ^^

    oh god. im kind of a die-hard manga fan and HES NOT WORTHY.

  • kitty

    no freakin way does he need to play someone as awesome as light yagami! thats complete bs…it was made in japan already as a la and we dont need to ruin it by hollywood corrupting it.

  • Miki-chan

    I’m okay with Zac playing Light,since he really look alike Light,but I don’t wanna see another hollywood celebtrities playing in DN 😐

Leave a comment